Photos by Greg Halinda Photography

Here are the stages of a house fly's life!

The adult female fly lays eggs on something the babies will eat when they hatch, such as rotting flesh or feces. 

They hatch within a day and immediately start eating. They are called larvae or maggots. (one is a larva)

The larvae grow bigger by eating whatever they were on when they hatched. 
After a week, the larvae start getting stiff (rear end first).
The larvae become entirely stiff and can't move any more. They're then called pupae (one is a pupa).
The pupae become dark burgundy in colour.
The pupae get darker. 
The pupae become black with white flecks. They stay this way for about 2 weeks.

After 2-3 weeks, the flies break out of the pupae, head first. It usually takes about 15 minutes. The wings unfold in 20 minutes.

After half a day, the flies start flying. They live as an adult for 7-21 days. They eat sweet, juicy things. A female will lay her eggs, then die. The life cycle starts all over again!


Click here to see another Fly Life Cycle

Click on these thumbnails to see our life cycles!